Day 95: Chutes and Ladders

(Author’s note: Something’s happening soon which might make me vanish for a few days, so I’m going to quickly get the past couple days posted.)

Most of today was spent writing telescope software for Secret Plan 174.

Geek details: I moved the code over to Linux, since that’s what the actual telescope computer will be running. I’m using Xubuntu (chosen via bake-off for simplicity and fast boot time), but found a flaw in it (light-blue screen of pain and immobility). It took a few hours to figure out a workaround (deleting all of my .* files). If you know the real solution to this one, I’m interested.

The cats are excited and thrilled by all of this.

DSCN1815

I haven’t got the actual telescope computer yet, so I’m using VirtualBox (thanks to brilliant muse!) which is making things very easy.

Since Mom, Dad and Chuck are back from Alaska, I’ve sent the telescope code down to them. Dad, never having seen the code before, got it compiling and running the same day. My folks are crazy-smart that way.

It’s overcast today, but pretty warm. Perfect to blow off Linux and dot-files and telescopes and go read some sci-fi in a café.

DSCN1787 DSCN1789
Stairway shortcuts are all over the city, just like a game of Chutes & Ladders. They’re super-handy when you need to vanish.

The muse is going to be home late tonight (I can hear what sounds like a cutting torch in the background, so she’s almost done with the job). So I head to Fattoush.

She and I are regulars here. Abed, the owner, greets me with a glass of wine and some great stories. He runs a fantastic operation, and it’s an easy walk from our place. Even better, he’s building a brand new wine bar in the back. It’s almost done.

DSCN1790
If you want a hot tasty meal, I recommend the Barhoumi, Tabsi, and Mansaf.

Walking home, I realize the sky has completely cleared except for a cool-looking strip of cloud over downtown. I love this place.

DSCN1809

Random assertion: In nine hundred years, when everyone has forgotten what computers are, religious wars will be fought over differences which can be traced to Mac, PC and Linux.

Steganographic data: 1798/4.4

Days remaining in Secret Plan 158: 14

Published in: on August 23, 2008 at 10:11 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://stuntrabbit.wordpress.com/2008/08/23/day-95-chutes-and-ladders/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Speaking of reading sci-fi, can you give your faithful readers a top 5 list?

  2. Heck yes. I’m planning on a restaurant list and a sci-fi list. Until I get around to it, here are some starters. Some of these are not nice books, but they’re all good books.
    These are in no particular order, except the first two.

    The Algebraist, by Iain Banks (one of my all-time favorites.)

    A Fire Upon The Deep, by Vernor Vinge

    Glasshouse, by Charles Stross

    Kiln People, by David Brin

    Startide Rising -> Brightness Reef -> Infinity Shore -> Heaven’s Reach, by David Brin (note I skipped Sundiver and Uplift War. It’s your choice. If you’re a fast reader go for it, but I think the other four are what make the series shine.)

    Vacuum Diagrams, by Stephen Baxter

    World War Z, by Max Brooks (not technically sci-fi)

    Anything at all by H.P. Lovecraft (not technically sci-fi)

    R is for Rocket, and any other short stories by Ray Bradbury (may or may not be sci-fi, and you may not even know until you reach the last page.)

  3. […] drive is long but easy, and I get home just in time to meet my muse at Fattoush for a late […]


Leave a Reply

