Day 68: Ready the Cannon

Tomorrow I’ve got a meeting with a gentleman about a shipwreck. That’s going to be excellent.

As I’m walking through the city today, I see something surprising.

DSCN0931

I’m up on a hill, but it’s clearly time to head toward the water.

Today is the Tall Ship Parade. When I get to the water (having sprinted like a 12-year-old the whole way), there are people along the water’s edge for miles.

DSCN0968

The ships are beautiful, and sailing under the Golden Gate Bridge, right in front of us.

DSCN0934

DSCN0936

DSCN0940

DSCN0944

It’s like a fireworks show. “Ooh look at that one!” “Wow, beautiful”

…and then “BANG!”

Yep, the smoke in this picture is from the ship’s cannon. They missed me.

DSCN0946

DSCN0949

DSCN0951

DSCN0952

This next ship is the SS Jeremiah O’Brien. Just a few days ago, my muse and I were in this ship’s engine room, while it was running. It’s great to see it out on the water. The submarine might be out here too. How would we know?

DSCN0961

DSCN0960 DSCN0964
Those kayaks might want to paddle a bit faster.

DSCN0971

Afterward, I head to a little crepe and omelet place for lunch. This place is fantastic. Sophie, the lovely and friendly owner, runs it family-style. Everything she makes is excellent.

DSCN0979 DSCN0976

There’s lust one big table in the middle for everyone to sit around, and the silverware is in a chest of drawers.

After that, it’s off to the park for some reading (sleeping), and then more work on Secrret Plans.

DSCN0980

Random assertion: Every beautiful ship knows more stories than anyone has told.

Steganographic data: 1838/7.6

Published in: on July 26, 2008 at 12:39 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,