Day 56: High Wires and a Good Trade

Dad and Chuck may be getting themselves involved in a really interesting computer project for the Mt. Wilson Observatory. They’ve asked me to help out as well, so look for pictures of a really big telescope soon.

DSCN0506

The cats look like they suddenly fell asleep after a high-speed collision.
DSCN0500

The wires above Muni trains are dangerous and carry extremely high voltages, which is why they’re high off the ground. Going anywhere near them is strictly forbidden, for very good reasons. If you did, though, it would look something like this:
DSCN0516

First stop today is Tartine Bakery. Everyone who lives nearby knows where it is, if only from the line out the door.

DSCN0508 DSCN0507
A lot of cute women running an excellent bakery and coffee shop. What’s not to like?
DSCN0514

I need some information about operating systems for Dad and Chuck’s telescope project. Luckily, I’m having lunch with Ben today at Zazie. If anyone has (or can get) the information I need, it’s him.

…but good information always comes at a price. Luckily, I still have a chocolate chip cookie from yesterday’s shenanigans, so I trade it for what I need.

DSCN0519

…and yep, his answers are just what I was looking for.

Later on, I’m meeting my muse high up in a cool old building downtown. We’ve got evening plans with Christine and Shannon involving something we’ll probably need earplugs for.
DSCN0524 DSCN0525

Random assertion: Cookies can be traded for almost anything.

Steganographic data: 1866/4.2

Published in: on July 13, 2008 at 3:29 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,