Day 26: Gravity Boys

When my muse leaves for work, I get on the highway.


These propellors help keep the Earth’s rotation from slowing over time. It takes hundreds of them to do the job.

It’s a 6-hour drive from San Francisco to Los Angeles, but it’s easy. Roll the windows down, crank up the music, and you’re there.

First stop in Pasadena is to see my grandmother. Gram has been reading this blog every day, and it’s got her in a mood to tell fun stories. During my visit, she drops hints about some mischief in 1931, which apparently made the papers. I’ve got some digging to do when I get back to the library. If I can I find it, I’ll post it for you.

From San Francisco, Las Vegas and Culver City, the boys all converge on Mom & Dad’s place. There are stories to tell. A lot of them.




Three guys with no respect for gravity

  • Kris (on the right) has a few days off from his show. He’s an acrobat for Cirque Du Soleil in this show, and his act is amazing to watch.
  • CJ (in the middle) spends his non-work time BASE jumping, flying planes, and tinkering. He’s currently building an airplane, which is why I came down.

Before dinner, I jump in the hot tub with a book. After a few minutes, dad stops by to hand me a margarita. See, this is why we treat the parents so well when they visit us. Good training.

We get to CJ’s place close to midnight, and Bethany (his muse and skydiving companion) has stories to top anything we’ve heard all day. Her work is far more dangerous than mine, always. She teaches 5th grade.

Before going to sleep, CJ gives me an overview of the avionics equipment for his plane. This is what we’ll be working on tomorrow.


Random assertion: To do a dull thing with style is preferable to doing a dangerous thing without style. To do a dangerous thing with style, is what I call art. – Charles Bukowski

Steganographic data: 1864/0.5

Published in: on June 12, 2008 at 8:26 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , , ,