Day 13: Gargoyles, Scientists and Cookies

First thing this morning, I got a surprise phone call about buried ships.

Leigh works in the Maritime Library archives. He had heard that I was looking for information on the Niantic wreck, and called to say that he actually has everything recovered from that ship. Tools, supplies, even the champagne (which he says he has not sampled). He’ll be able to show them to me in a couple of weeks.

Next person I talked to was my grandmother, who moved to SF from Scotland when she was little. She said “I could have told you they were there. They taught us about those buried ships in school.” She’s one of the reasons I keep this journal.

After some productive reading time (in the park with my eyes closed), I walk to two of the most brilliantly strange shops in the city.

The sign says oddities, and it doesn’t lie. This is Paxton Gate, my mom’s personal favorite. They don’t allow cameras inside, because photos don’t convey the coolness of this place. You just need to see it.

Shop #2 is Borderlands. If you like science fiction, fantasy, or horror, you need to visit this place. Alan is the owner, and he’ll see that you aren’t disappointed. The staff is great, their recommendations are spot-on, and there is an entire wall dedicated to H. P. Lovecraft books (one of which was written by my best friend Hans). Ripley the Gargoyle Cat is a local celebrity. When I stopped in on his birthday, there was cake.

After that, the afternoon is spent doing careful study of the waves in Pacifica, a town about 10 minutes away.

Later tonight, my muse and I have a meeting with a bunch of scientists in a secret location. I’m in charge of bringing dessert, so I make a batch of the house special. It’s similar to my mom’s recipe, except that I use more chocolate chips than anyone ever should.

The meeting location was so secret that we nearly didn’t find it. Nearly. Stories were told, new inventions discussed, and many cookies were eaten.


Vik, Karl, Nick, and the Muse. Four of the smartest people I know.

Random assertion: Very little harm will ever come from giving someone a cookie.

Steganographic data: 1874/5.0

Published in: on May 30, 2008 at 8:40 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://stuntrabbit.wordpress.com/2008/05/30/day-13-gargoyles-scientists-and-cookies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Here are some more pictures of Ripley and her sibling Sly at Borderlands: http://www.flickr.com/photos/tnkgrl/sets/72157600978607607/

  2. Sweet Christmas! If, in one week, I did half the things you do in a single day, I’d probably be poised to write something worthwhile…

  3. Oh. my. god. Recipe for those cookies? They look frickin’ amazing 🙂

  4. How am I supposed to turn down a request like that? Will send via email. If there are more who want it, it may get posted.

  5. […] 68: Ready the Cannon Tomorrow I’ve got a meeting with a gentleman about a shipwreck. That’s going to be […]

  6. […] 79: Aspara and Luau Vik (science expert) and Gary (photographer/philosopher) told me about two very different art & […]


Leave a Reply

